Review | I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan

“The way to make the pain go away was to put your mind somewhere else. you let your mind leave and float above you, where it could watch you.”

 

Book Synopsis:

 

Emily Bell believes in destiny. To her, being forced to sing a solo in the church choir–despite her average voice–is fate: because it’s while she’s singing that she first sees Sam. At first sight, they are connected.

Sam Border wishes he could escape, but there’s nowhere for him to run. He and his little brother, Riddle, have spent their entire lives constantly uprooted by their unstable father. That is, until Sam sees Emily. That’s when everything changes.

As Sam and Riddle are welcomed into the Bells’ lives, they witness the warmth and protection of a family for the first time. But when tragedy strikes, they’re left fighting for survival in the desolate wilderness, and wondering if they’ll ever find a place where they can belong. Beautifully written and emotionally profound, I’ll Be There is a gripping story that explores the complexities of teenage passions, friendships, and loyalties.

 

 

Goodreads Rating: 4.01

My Rating: 4.5

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

e945ec080bdfe1fc53a3d016f5b97b5d

 

 

“For him and his brother, he now knew, that music was real. Becuase all you had to do, really, was be willing to use your imagination. And listen.”

Okay so I read this years ago (I was maybe in 7th grade) in my school’s library and I remember loving it to bits that I just needed more. And 7th grader me at that time was still reading Geronimo Stilton books and I remember being surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I remember picking up this book (because of the early pretty cover yes huhu I know I am a disgrace) and not being sure about it but I ended up loving it.

 

I was touched by the relationship Sam had with his brother, Riddle. I simply loved the character development here and the writing style was one that got me intrigued and got me to love this book despite me not being fully diverged into the genre yet.

 

I have to admit that the theme of the book may seem quite corny at first but if you are just starting out in the genre you probably won’t feel that way while reading it so no need to worry.

 

I also realized that despite Emily to seemingly have a big part in the story as shown in the synopsis and the plot, her character seemed not fully developed as much as the two brothers. Although she did play the key role in the book and was also part of the conflict of the story.
I am not sure is this is a suitable read for YA or Middle Grade because I just simply cannot remember.. . but this is definitely something that readers who are looking for a family focused and contemporary based plot will enjoy.

 

~

 

A STANDALONE BOOK

 

9415957

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

