Review | Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days, #1) by Susan Ee

“Why were the other angels attacking you?”

“It’s impolite to ask the victim of violence what they did to be attacked.”

 

Book Synopsis:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Goodreads Rating: 4.19

My Rating: 4.70

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

 

00b38bce4318c4e7b69bb6ac75bb0a8b

 

// this was written after I have read the whole series //

— M I N I  S P O I L E R S —

“I’ve never killed anyone before. What frightens me isn’t that I’m killing someone. What frightens me is how easy it is.”

I have to say that I did not expect to love this book as much I do. I think through most of the book (and the series) I was just a mumbling, crying, laughing mess. This reminded me so much of the ACOMAF love story and Shadowhunters heart wrenching writing style.
Raffe is definitely the new addition to my list of fictional boyfriends. I cannot even emphasis enough how much I was completely in love with him reading this book. He is literally the definition of perfect but with just the right kinks in the personality to still keep himself real enough for the book and the right partner for our female protagonist.

Penryn was surprisingly someone I didn’t get annoyed at. . . ?! While I am speaking for myself here, I was so pleasantly surprised by how I was not annoyed by her personality since it is so rare for me not to be annoyed the female MCs. I found her personality and her family perfect for the flow of the story, the plot and just really the book in general. Her sister was just adorable that I pitied her, their mom annoyed me a hell lot at first but ended up making me laugh by the end of this book (series) and they were both bad asses by the third book 😉  Her sister taught me that you can always be so much more than who you already are and their mom taught me to just do your own thing.

I’m not exactly sure what were my problems while reading the book or if I even had any at that time but the high of the book covered it all up. I didn’t really here anything about this book before I picked it up and I just feel that you shouldn’t know much about it and not expect too much. Just have a fun time with it and I know you’ll enjoy it.

Sometimes you just need a kind of light-hearted melodrama that gets your heart racing in all the right ways. This book was so perfect for me and it was the exact and perfect book I needed at that time. (And I just have to add that the cover art is really pretty hehe)

The moment I saw this book I had a good feeling about it and I am so glad that i was not disappointed.

“Sometimes, as we’re stumbling along in the dark, we hit something good.”

 

Ebook (epub)

 

~

FIRST INSTALLMENT IN THE “PENRYN & THE END OF DAYS” TRILOGY

15863832

More by Susan Ee:

End of Days: Book Review 

One thought on “Review | Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days, #1) by Susan Ee

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

