Review | Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

“I’d ruin any day, all my days, for those long nights with you, and I did.”

 

Book Synopsis:

 

 

I’m telling you why we broke up, Ed. I’m writing it in this letter, the whole truth of why it happened.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.

 

 

Goodreads Rating: 3.49

My Rating: 4.30

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

 

bab2435c6ff2f8344b5af2a902c546b6

 

 

“Then where were you, is what I wanted to say, all my lonely times, but right next to me, I knew, was where.”

 

This book will make you fall in love even though you know you shouldn’t.

It made my heart ache in all the right times and all the right places. I loved all the characters in this story and I like how there was always more to the supporting characters. Although this is a cliche book I loved the writing style and how unique it is. It took a very different take on the cliche love story and even though I practically guessed how everything would turn out to be I still felt everything while reading this book. I felt like I was reading this cliche type of plot for the first time.

 

 

— S P O I L E R S —

 

 

AL!!! I don’t know how you can ship Min and Ed but not Min and Al. I for one shipped Min and Al so much even though I was still low-key falling in love with Ed. In fact, for those who of you who have not read the book but is here in the spoiler section. . . the quote up there is actually Min referring to Al. And also, for the fellow readers of this book, if you noticed other subtle hints like this one I think it means that in the present and after Min has sent the letters, you can somehow conclude that Min is starting to see Al in a different way. (I HOPE!! because as I said, I love Al) given that I didn’t even know there was gonna be a guy best friend love added into the story.

 

 

I loved the how everything concluded. I appreciate the stories that don’t have a solid ending to the plot. The kind of stories that leaves it to the readers imagination but still leaves you satisfied enough.

 

 

The supporting characters of this story totally stole it for me. I like it when characters are more than they are ought to be and this book nailed it. Even though the male and female MCs can already be predicted from the start the supporting characters make up for the unpredictability of the story. They played their roles perfectly and I cannot ask for a better presentation for them. It was simple, but deep, and so cleanly written that I don’t know how much more I can write for you to understand just how much I thought they were perfect for the plot. Al‘s character was subtle but present enough for you to love him but not get tired of the I’m in live with my bestfriend thing he has going on. Lauren was so entertaining and the perfect girl best friend for our female MC. These two girls balanced the story pretty well and even though not a lot of people really noticed her much in the story I still thought she was subtle and perfect for it. Jillian made me want to hug her and spray her with stars in the super short scene but meant much bigger than how it is actually written.

 

 

The clicheness of the story is really the only think that brought it down. Though, it was written uniquely and in a much more heart wrenching way. I was happy that there was some kind of plot twist with the objects that she collected and gave to him but it still wasn’t enough, I guess.

 

In general this was a really great book that I enjoyed, with all it’s little quirks and just how subtle (I keep mentioning this but I have to say it) and deep it can be. It made me cry and made my heart ache in the process and I this is perfect for readers who are trying to move on, trying to figure things out and of course. . . those who just needs to fall in love all over again.

 

 

“The first boy I fell in love with didn’t know I loved him, but he managed to break my heart anyway.”

– Holly Black; Author of White Cat

 

 

 

Why We Broke Up (epub)

 

 

~

 

A STANDALONE BOOK

 

10798418

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

