Review | All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

“We do not remember days, we remember moments.”

 

Logomakr_8BOxfN

S Y N O P S I S

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

 

Edition: Hardcover

Publishing Date: January 6, 2015

Publisher: Knopf

Genre: Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult, Mental Health (Mental Illness)

ISBN: 0385755880 (ISBN13: 9780385755887)

Goodreads Rating: 3.47

My Rating: 4.80

 

★★★★★

R E V I E W

 

“The problem with people is they forget that most of the time, it’s the small things that count.”

 

This book was something that a number of my friends recommended to me. They told me it would be sad and it really is a sad book. For the most part of the book I was praying the something I predicted would happen won’t and I really could not accept it when it happened. A number of things in this book was really subtle and it had a lot of the characteristics that I look for in a contemporary book (subtly, wonderful and heart wrenching quotes, character depth, etc.).

A good book to read when you are feeling alone.

 

LogoMakr_1KQ7os

Characters were pretty ordinary to me and I just didn’t find them that much striking but the message of the book was simply I cannot ignore and something I just wanted to explore more and got me to continue the book. I really cannot find myself continuing a book when I do not ‘click’ with the characters in the story but I could not make myself put this down. I was intrigued.

 

The characters were good enough to not make me hate them. But I have to say that I did not fall head over heels (even thought the writing style more than made up for it).

 

LogoMakr_1PBrC3

This was one of thoses rare books that changed my view on the world. Personally, it is not always the big and popular books that changes my views ad principles. But just books with clear messages like this one.

Even though there have been very mixed opinions about it, I still enjoyed what this book gave to me.

 

LogoMakr_7G5Fne

plot-wise I could have somehow seen and predicted which road this book was taking but it did not stop me from crying and being ultimately sad about it. I was still left a bit shell shocked, I just could not accept it. I wanted to know more of what happened and I was left wishing that we got more of an explanation after that ending.

 

LogoMakr_6axTpc

“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.”

 

This might be one of my favorite quotes ever. It is true in all the ways that count. You can be different to everybody. To some people, you are their best friend and the person they cherish the most but to other people, you could just be the girl that sits beside them during Chemistry or the boy that greets them every morning when you go to grab coffee.

 

But here’s the thing: you will never know. What if to the person who sits beside you in chemistry, thinks you are the most beautiful and nicest person they have ever met and is just waiting for a chance to talk to you? What if the person you greet in the morning looks forward to it every day and it actually saddens them when they don’t see you and ends up worrying about you for the rest of the day? The world is such an amazing place to not know every single little thing. Human beings are mysteries. . . but with the right people, this life doesn’t have to be so mysterious.

I can honestly see why people would compare this to TFIOS now.

 

 

It was not a book that was perfect in the sense of the word but it did change me for the better. And this is what I call a good book. . . because it did what a book is meant to do. 

 

It changed me.

 

A STANDALONE BOOK

18460392

LogoMakr_1T3rBt

LogoMakr_5mZFOv.png

Thank you for coming to my blog !!


CRATEJOY is the all-in-one eccomerce platform for box subscription services. This is the perfect platform or starting point for anyone who loves subscribing to box services or anyone who would want to start their own.

I have recently joined as a Cratejoy Influencer and I am so happy since I love box subscriptions and it’s my chance to share it with you guys.

Whether it’s books, bath, health, scents, Cratejoy has it!

Find your new favorite box subscription serivce at: Cratejoy

 you can also check out my bundle here for other subscription services you might be interested in !!

Weekly posts are posted every Mondays and/or Thursdays. My posts do not have a particular pattern, so stay tuned to see what’s up next 😉

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: