Review | King’s Cage (Red Queen, #3) by Victoria Aveyard

“The boy she shaped into a king through a torture she called love.”

 

Book Synopsis:

 

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

 

 

Goodreads Rating: 4.05

My Rating: 3.90

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

 

59a63ba28600b01c6e608e810ff749a7

 

I have a love-hate relationship with this book.

 

The thing that keeps bothering me while I’m reading this series is how similar it is to so many other books that I have read. The inner me is exploding at the combination of all these dystopian and YA worlds that I don’t even know if it is good or bad.

 

The plot and the idea keeps reminding me of another ya series and although I generally like the book and the concept of this book and that I am internally fangirling because of the clash of the different ya worlds in my head. . . I just can’t seem to get over it.

 

I need more originality. . . ?

 

“Those who know what it’s like in the dark will do anything to stay in the light.”

 

And for the love of me, I don’t think I have it in me to ever hate Maven. Sweet, lil’ ole Maven, he is my cinnamon bun, even after this book. Maven’s character here actually has more to it than what is written of him at first. He became a bigger part of the story and it really added to the whole image of the book as well as the originality. I loved his character so much and I loved it more than Cal, his brother. Before you guys start attacking me. . . I don’t hate Cal, it’s just that he is too one-dimensional and predictable for me. I like characters who surprise me and give back to the book. It is my weakness.

 

The writing style in this series will always keep you guessing and curious. While I was reading this book I cannot put it down at all because I just needed to know what was going to happen next.

 

I really hope the next few books will live up to the hype the first part of the series has created for itself.

~

 

THIRD INSTALLMENT IN THE “RED QUEEN” SERIES

 

30226723

 

One thought on “Review | King’s Cage (Red Queen, #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

