How To | Getting ARCs and free books to review (including Blog Tours & Giveaways)

If you don't already know what an ARC is, it is an Advance Review/Reader Copy of books that is made available to reviewers, bloggers, and booksellers, before the actual publishing date of the book to be reviewed. Advanced Reader Copies can’t be sold or are not allowed to be made public, which is why they are the only books I never accept review requests for. These books help generate buzz about a book before it comes out.

Most of my reviews on this blog are ARC reviews as they are the books that are actually sent to me to be read and reviewed.

You should know that I have worked with a lot of authors, publishers, and fellow book bloggers over the 2 years that I have been blogging and these have been my methods and resources. I cannot explicitly explain all the details that go into the work but this is as much of it as I can say.

GIVEAWAY | The Storyteller’s Secret by Sejal Badani

GIVEAWAY |

SYNOPSIS: Nothing prepares Jaya, a New York journalist, for the heartbreak of her third miscarriage and the slow unraveling of her marriage in its wake. Desperate to assuage her deep anguish, she decides to go to India to uncover answers to her family’s past. Intoxicated by the sights, smells, and sounds she experiences, Jaya becomes an eager student of the culture. But it is Ravi—her grandmother’s former servant and trusted confidant—who reveals the resilience, struggles, secret love, and tragic fall of Jaya’s pioneering grandmother during the British occupation.

​Through her courageous grandmother’s arrestingly romantic and heart-wrenching story, Jaya discovers the legacy bequeathed to her and a strength that, until now, she never knew was possible. GIVEAWAY: Winner will get 1 of 3 paperback copies of The Storyteller’s Secret and another winner will receive a $25 Amazon gift card (4 winners / open internationally). This Giveaway ends on July 20, 2019.

EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY | Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races by K.D. Halbrook

BOOK EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY |

SYNOPSIS: Set in a vivid, Arab-inspired world filled with friendly and fearsome water dragons, K.D. Halbrook’s Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races is a middle-grade fantasy adventure, with illustrations by Ilse Gort, that’s perfect for fans of Tui T. Sutherland, Sayantani DasGupta, and Roshani Chokshi.

Silver’s dreams of becoming a legendary water dragon racer come true when she befriends a rare dragon that can swim and fly.

Thirteen-year-old Silver Batal calls the desert home, but her heart belongs to the waters. Although she’s expected to become a jeweler like her father, Silver harbors a secret and forbidden wish to race water dragons. Destiny comes calling when her friendship with a mysterious old woman leads her to Hiyyan, a baby dragon that can swim and fly.

Risking everything, Silver, Hiyyan, and her resourceful cousin Brajon set off across the desert to join the legendary races in the royal city. But the road to Calidia is filled with danger, and the trio must band together as they encounter ferocious cave beasts, clever desert foxes, and cutthroat competition.

EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY | Bobby Ether and the Jade Academy by R. Scott Boyer

BOOK EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY |

SYNOPSIS: When Bobby Ether is abducted and brought to the secluded Jade Academy in Tibet, monks teach him and other special students how to tap into their Anima—the universal energy that connects all living things. But the headmistress of the academy is secretly testing each student, looking for genetic triggers that can be exploited to create a new breed of humans born with metaphysical powers and abilities. As his abilities increase, Bobby is thrust into a cesspool of conspiracy, lies, and betrayal. A jade amulet left by his clairvoyant grandfather may provide answers, but what exactly is his family’s connection to this mysterious place? Can Bobby master his talents and uncover the truth in time to avoid the schemes? If not, his fate—and the fate of all the students—may be sealed.

GIVEAWAY & AUTHOR INTERVIEW | Silent River by C.M. Weaver

BOOK EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY |

SYNOPSIS: A gripping psychological thriller inspired by true events.

Robert Collins is Portland’s best investigative detective. When the Stevens family goes missing, he goes to work. As he uncovers clues the family may have been targeted for a professional hit by organized crime, it gets personal.

Too personal. Can he face down his inner demons before he loses himself?

He confronts the mob and police bureaucracy to find the missing family. Jake, partner and friend, thinks he's spiraling into obsession, when Robert's taken off the case but refuses to give up the investigation.

Can he get past this shameless tragedy and his own past to move on with his life? Silent River is a fictionalized version of a real investigation in the late 1950s in Portland, Oregon, a time when money and power ruled the city. This story will appeal to fans of true crime and detective fiction alike. Readers who enjoy Ann Rule, Rex Stout, and Mary Higgins Clark will love CM Weaver.

Quoted Thursday || edge



Welcome to another Quoted Thursday !!!

Quoted Thursday is an original segment of The Moon Who Listens where quotes from books and song lyrics are featured. For books, Goodreads links are added, and for songs, Spotify links are also added in the "taken from" part.

Most of the posts have underlying themes embedded in the quotes but will not always be explicitly stated 😉

COVER REVEAL | The Hollow Queen (Stolen Empire, #5) by Sherry D. Ficklin

COVER REVEAL |



SYNOPSIS: As a princess of the Romanov Empire, Elizabeth has enjoyed a life of luxury and privilege. But the sudden deaths of her parents leaves her unprotected – awash in the dangerous tide of her family’s political rivals. When the supreme council crowns her half-nephew Peter II in her place, Elizabeth is left with no title, no power—and no allies. Now little more than a bastard in the eyes of the world, she is sent to serve in the palatial home of Prince Menshikov—the real power behind the boy king. 

But Elizabeth won’t fade quietly into the background. 

Determined to uncover the truth behind her mother’s murder and expose the men who mean to rule Russia in secret, she grows closer to the handsome young king, and swears to protect him and his rule at any cost. But the forces that oppose them are as dark as they are far-reaching–and this time, Elizabeth could lose more than just her title…

COVER REVEAL & GIVEAWAY | Take Me Away (Everly Place, #1) by Rachel Kirwin

COVER REVEAL & GIVEAWAY |

SYNOPSIS: Iris Everly is trying to figure out her place in the world. A world that has caused her heartache, loneliness, and uncertainty of her future. When her sisters and the Keller boys return from college she is forced to face some of the pain from her past but it also allows her to open her heart to new possibilities and maybe even love.

Basically, it’s a small town romance about three sisters who grew up next to three brothers. The younger of the two, Iris and Clay, have always had a strong connection but Clay’s dad became Mayor and they moved to the other side of town and grew apart. Once he returns from college for the summer they reconnect but life has a way of always tearing them apart. Some tearjerkers, steamy scenes, and great loss. 

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑